Vegan Meal Plan

Standard

I go through a lot of blogs and recipe collections and have started placing the recipes that look really tasty in a meal plan for my family. And since I’m often asked what I eat since I eat a plant-based diet, I thought I’d share a week with you and the links to the recipes.

A few notes about the menu that you might have….

  • Every morning before I put anything else in my stomach I drink the juice of 1/2 a lemon with 6 oz of hot water… it really helps kick start your liver and has helped tremendously with my gallbladder attacks… they are almost nil since starting this habit.
  • My post workout smoothie is 1 scoop of Juice Plus Complete in French Vanilla or Dutch Chocolate mixed with one cup of milk alternative (usually almond or soy). You can find a Juice Plus link on the right side of my blog.
  • The green smoothie listed in the snack column is made only if I’m feeling really hungry in the afternoon and want to avoid snacking on a whole bag or chips with salsa ….and there are plenty of recipes here in my blog for you to try.
  • The “JP garden/orchard/vine” are dehydrated veggies and fruits I take in capsules or gummies (my solution to being too lazy to use a juicer)…. you can find a link to more information on the right side of my blog.
  • The “Sweaty Workout”… is a resistance training workout I do with my girlfriends, the Sweaty Housewives….they rock!!

MEAL PLAN with links

3 responses »

  1. Are the kids & Joe veggie based too now? Did they make that overall transition well? We’ve cut out almost all dairy and red meat, but they still sneak it in if we go out to eat! Don’t know if I can get them completely converted!

    • I don’t think my whole family will ever be completely converted…. and it has been quite the journey over the past 1 1/2 years. I would say the way we eat in our family now is “meat on the side.” I cook a complete plant-based meal and then a few times a week I buy a small amount of meat for them to have on the side of our family meal. So the meat consumption in our home has gone way down….they now eat a healthy portion instead of the standard American portion….and it’s usually just at dinner instead of 3 meals a day. And I continued to buy regular milk for a long while till I realized no one was using it and my milks were running out fast. Obviously my kids don’t mind rice or almond milk. And I only buy cheese on occasion for them. So baby steps is what has made this transition work… there was a lot of griping in the beginning when I tried to push my way of eating on them too fast.

      So why did y’all cut out red meat and dairy? And how are the chickens?

      • 🙂 Chickens are good and lots of fun!

        Cut out red meat and dairy for health reasons. I stopped eating it in February and went down to one starchy carb serving per day, typically at dinner for them. I do a lean protein and fruit/veggie every 3 hours. The fam still eat their fill of starchy carbs for lunch, but mostly whole grains with minimal processing. Dinner usually has 100% whole grain something – brown rice, quinoa, couscous, beans, sometimes tortillas with a veggie and protein. They love soy and almond milk (I only do almond), but still eat cheese with their lunches. Ryder doesn’t tolerate red 40 dye, so we try to cut that out, but it’s in SO much food! I love seeing them talk about how much they love avocado, kale, brussel sprouts, edamame, tofu, etc! They think it’s really cool to know about that stuff when their friends have no idea! 🙂

Leave a comment