Spring Green Smootie

Standard

20120404-072549.jpg

My high school son told me this morning that he needed a salad for Spanish class… I know he told me a week ago… But I don’t remember stuff like that. So this smoothie was created by what was still out… And I still have no idea why someone would take a salad to Spanish class… That’s just weird… And I did ask but teenage boys don’t know how to communicate so I’m more confused then ever.

This is a smoothie for those of you that want low sugar and tons of nutrients… Some ginger to reduce inflammation…. And some Vega and produce to make it crazy high in fiber.

1/4 C cucumber
1/2 C romaine lettuce
1 pear
1 tsp raw ginger
2 scoops Vega Complete Health Optimizer* in natural flavor
1/2 C 100% orange juice
1 C coconut milk beverage
3 ice cubes

You’ll want to swirl this smoothie in a high powered blender like a Vitamix or Blendtec…. Otherwise it will be quite pulpy.

*Note…. Vega discontinued their Health Optimizer…. Oh sadness and woe…. Look for Vega One natural now… I haven’t tried it yet but I’ll let you know when I do.

One response »

  1. Yum, sounds good! I usually have a green smoothie for breakfast but broke tradition and had quinoa flakes cooked with bananas and blueberries, then added ground flax. Shoulda had my smoothie. So much lighter in the tummy!

Leave a Reply

